Rex Brothers

Losers can be winners with baseball 'worst' awards

Losers can be winners with baseball 'worst' awards

PITTSBURGH — Baseball's awards races are winding down, and the Baseball Writers Association of America has some difficult choices to make in the four voting categories for each league.

Mike Trout, Clayton Kershaw and Jose Abreu appear to be shoo-ins for American League MVP, National League Cy Young and AL Rookie of the Year, respectively.

But the other categories — including the two Manager of the Year awards — may come down to the final weeks.

On the flip side, there are also some interesting races shaping up for the worst performances of the 2014 season.

Here's how one man's ballot would be shaping up, if these awards actually existed: