All-Courant Boys Soccer

All-Courant Team


Juan Avila, Morgan, Sr.

Brandon Baker, Prince Tech, Sr.

Alec Erskine, Coventry, Sr.

Toby Goldstein, Cheshire, Jr.

Austin Hilger, Old Saybrook, Sr.

Brennan Hughes, Farmington, Jr.

Cooper Knecht, E.O. Smith, Sr.

Mitchell Lyons, South Windsor, Jr.

Michael McFarlane, Suffield, Sr.

John Mudgett, Lewis Mills, Sr.

Ben Ranicar, Granby, Sr.

Larson Richards, E.O. Smith, Sr.

Sebby Sanzaro, Glastonbury, Sr.

Noah Silverman, Berlin, Sr.

Michael Sisk, Coventry, Sr.

Alphonso Vazquez, Windham, So.


Jason Addi, Xavier, Sr.

Ryan Greenberg, Tolland, Sr.

Owen McShane, Hand, Sr.

Andrew Sullivan, Glastonbury, Sr.

Will Toomey, E.O. Smith, Sr.


Bennett Cole, Glastonbury, Sr.

Evan Daddona, Southington, Sr.

Anes Gadun, Morgan, Sr.

Jackson Lord, Lewis Mills, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Forwards/midfielders: Dylan Carzello, Suffield, Sr.; Max Drazem, Hall, Sr.; Will Fitzsimmons, Farmington, Sr.; Alec Hughes, Glastonbury, So.; Anthony Karg, Old Saybrook, Sr.; Thomas Knox, Hall, Sr.; Jonah Nucci, Old Saybrook, Sr.; Ojo Otasowie, Prince Tech, Sr.; Justin Phillips, Old Saybrook, Sr.; JJ Tracy, Cromwell, Jr.; Joe Wix, Granby

Defense: Roman Dutkewych, Ellington, Jr.; Mike Ford, Xavier, Sr.; Gabriel Mangiafico, Haddam-Killingworth, Sr.; Riley Welter, Avon, Sr.

Goalies: Vinny Conelli, Conard, Sr.; Henry Cutler, Suffield, Sr.; Zack Marsh, Farmington, Jr.; Jack DeGirolamo, Newington, Jr.


Glastonbury beat Naugatuck 1-0 in the Class LL final to win its fourth state title in five years and seventh under head coach Mark Landers. Senior captain Sebby Sanzaro suffered an ACL injury that caused him to miss roughly half the regular season, but returned in time for the postseason, where he scored in every Glastonbury tournament game.

E.O. Smith senior Cooper Knecht broke the school’s all-time scoring record with his 104th career goal, and had 46 goals on the season, one shy of the school’s single-season record. E.O. Smith was the top CCC team during the regular season, but suffered its first loss in the Class L semifinals against Masuk.

Hand overcame behind-the-scenes turmoil to win a second consecutive state title, beating Masuk, 2-1, in the Class L final. Head coach Stan Latkowski was suspended midway through the season and later relieved of his duties, but interim coach Anthony Mancini and assistants Bob and David Dikranian (father and son) guided Hand to SCC and state championships.

Lewis Mills won its first championship since 1997 with a 3-2 win over Suffield in the Class M final, a thriller that featured three lead changes and a game-winning goal with 10 seconds left.

Somers fell short in pursuit of the program’s fifth Class S title of the decade, losing to Morgan, 4-0, in the final. … Farmington beat Shelton in a rematch of last year’s Class LL final, but lost to Glastonbury in the semifinals. … Southington overcame a 1-4-2 start to advance to the Class LL tournament, beating Conard in the first round before falling to Glastonbury in the second.

State Championships

Class LL: Glastonbury 1, Naugatuck 0

Class L: Hand 2, Masuk 1

Class M: Lewis Mills 3, Suffield 2

Class S: Morgan 4, Somers 0

Copyright © 2018, CT Now