Fox CT Nominated For More Than 30 Emmy Awards

Nominations for the 2011 New England Chapter Emmy awards were announced Wednesday, and Fox CT lead local stations with more than 30 nominations.

Fox CT garnered 37 nominations in total, including 33 for news coverage and four for promotions or magazine features.

Nominees included Hartford Courant Columnist Jim Shea, and editorial cartoonist Bob Englehart for their segments on the Fox CT news, reporters Jim Altman, Jennifer Bernstein, John Charlton, Sarah Cody, George Colli, Anthony DiLorenzo, Ayana Harry, and Laurie Perez. Videographers Garett Allison, Ryan Bernat, Bob Hoover, Garth Millen, Mike Piskorski, Shawn Sienkiewicz, Michael Townsend, and Scott Vargas were nominated as well. Dana Killebrew, producer of the News at 4 P.M was nominated. Former staff members Sarah French, Matt Nodland, Angie Reyes, and Dustin Schultz were nominated for work done while at the station last year.

The news department, under the direction of News Director Coleen Marren, received a nomination for Team Coverage for reports on Hurricane Irene.

For promotional spots Bill Murphy, Christina Messino, Chris Moran, Chad Sherman and Joseph Schiltz were nominated. Also nominated were Tony ColapietroPete DiMatteo, Christopher Panton, and Jeff York.


WFSB received eight nominations, WVIT six, and WTNH was nominated three times. CPTV received eight nominations. CT-N, the statewide public affairs network received it's first nomination as well for its nearly 10 hours of coverage of the Governor's inauguration.

Award recipients will be announced at a reception and dinner in Boston June 2.

A full list of nominees is available on the New England Chapter's website.

An earlier version of this story incorrectly said CPTV received one nomination, they infact received eight.

Copyright © 2018, CT Now