Connecticut Critics Name Nominees For Best Of State's Theater Season

'Hamlet,' 'Arcadia' among nominees CT's best play productions; 'Kiss Me Kate,' up for best musical

Two world premieres, two established works and one adaptation make up the nominations for outstanding production of a play the 2014-15 season by the Connecticut Critics Circle. The awards honoring the best of Connecticut theater will be presented at the group’s annual event, hosted by the Yale Repertory Theatre at the Iseman Theatre in New Haven June 22 at 7:30 p.m.

The event is open to the public without charge but seating is limited and available on a first come-first served basis.

The nominees for outstanding production of a play are William Shakespeare’s “Hamlet” and the world premiere of Matthew Lopez’ “Reverberation,” both at Hartford Stage; Tom Stoppard’s “Arcadia” and the world premiere of Sheila Callaghan’s “Elevada,” both at Yale Rep; and Westport Country Playhouse production of David Ives adaptation Pierre Coreneille’s of “The Liar.”

Other nominees are:

For outstanding production of a musical: “Fiddler on the Roof” and the world premiere of “Irving Berlin’s Holiday Inn,” both at Goodspeed Opera House in East Haddam; Hartford Stage’s “Kiss Me, Kate;” “All Shook Up” at the Ivoryton Playhouse; and “The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee” at West Hartford’s Playhouse on Park.

For outstanding actor in a play: Zach Appelman in Hartford Stage’s “Hamlet’;” Tom Pecinka in Yale Rep’s “Arcadia;” Luke Macfarlane in Hartford Stage’s “Reverberation;” Steven Skybell in Yale Rep’s “The Caucasian Chalk Circle” and Aaron Krohn in Westport Playhouse’s “The Liar.”

For outstanding actress in a play: Nikki Walker in Westport Country Playhouse’s “Intimate Apparel;” Keilly MacQuail in Long Wharf Theatre’s “Bad Jews;” Shaunette Renee Wilson in “The Caucasian Chalk Circle” at Yale Rep; Laurel Casillo in “Elevada” at Yale Rep and Margaret Colin in “The Second Mrs. Wilson” at Long Wharf.

For outstanding actor in a musical: Adam Heller in Goodspeed’s “Fiddler on the Roof;” Noah Racey in Goodspeed’s “Holiday Inn;” David Edwards in Ivoryton Playhouse’s “La Cage Aux Folles;” Preston Ellis in Ivoryton’s “All Shook Up;” Michael Damian Fasano in Seven Angels Theatre’s “Footloose.”

For outstanding actress in a musical: Nancy Anderson for Goodspeed's "Guys and Dolls;" Danielle Bowen for Ivoryton's "All Shook Up," Elissa DeMaria for Music Theater of Connectoicut's "Little Shop of Horrors;" Patti Murin for Goodspeed's "Holiday Inn:" and Rebecca Spigelman for Summer Theater of New Canaan's "Hairspray"

For outstanding director of a play: Darko Tresnjak at Hartford Stage’s “Hamlet;” James Bundy for Yale Rep’s “Arcadia;” Penny Metropulos for Westport Playhouse’s “The Liar;” Jackson Gay for Yale Rep’s “Elevada” and Maxwell Williams for Hartford Stage’s “Reverberation.”

For outstanding director of a musical: Rob Ruggiero for Goodspeed’s “Fiddler on the Roof;” Gordon Greenberg for Goodspeed’s “Holiday Inn ;” Darko Tresnjak for Hartford Stage’s “Kiss Me, Kate;” Richard Amelius for Ivoryton’s “All Shook Up;” Susan Haefner for Playhouse on Park’s “Spelling Bee.”

For outstanding ensemble: Playhouse on Park's "Spelling Bee" and "Altar Boyz;" TheaterWorks' "Woody Sez;" and Long Wharf's "Picasso at the Lapin Agile."

For outstanding featured actor in a play: Max Gordon Moore in Yale Rep's "Arcadia;" Edward James Hyland and Andrew Long in Hartford Stage's "Hamlet;" Carl Lundstedt in Hartford Stage's "Reverberation;" and Greg Keller in Yale Rep's "Elevada."

For outstanding featured actress in a play: Rebekah Brockman in Yale Rep's "Arcadia;" Kristin Harlow in Playhouse on Park's "Angels in America;" Rebekah Brockman at Westport Playhouse's "The Liar;" Kate Forbes in Hartford Stage's "Hamlet" and Tonya Pinkins at Yale Rep's "War."

For outstanding features actress in a musical: Elizabeth DeRosa andf Barrie Kreinik for Goodspeed's "Fiddler on the Roof;" Sharon Malone for STONC's "Hairspray;" Susan Mosher for Goodspeed's "Holiday Inn" and Megan Sikora for Hartfird Stage's "Kiss Me, Kate"

Outstanding featured actor in a musical: Nick Reynolds at STONC's "Hairspray;" John Payonk in Goodspeed's "Fiddler on the Roof;" Noah Marlowe in Goodspeed's "Holiday Inn;"  Stephen DeRosa in Westport Playhouse's "Sing for Your Shakespeare;" and Scott Cote in Goodspeed's "Guys and Dolls."

For outstanding choreographer: Denis Jones for Goodspeed's "Holiday Inn;" Richard Amelius for Ivoryton's "All Shook Up;" David Wanstreet for Ivoryton's Fingers and Toes;"  Alex Sanchez for Goodspeed's "Guys and Dolls" and Peggy Hickey for Hartford Stage's "Kiss Me, Kate."

For outstanding set design: Alexander Dodge for Hartford Stage's "Private Lives;"  James Youmans for Hartford Stage's "Ether Dome;" Chika Shimizu for Yale Rep's "The Caucasian Chalk Circle;"  Alexander Dodge for Hartford Stage's "Kiss Me, Kate" and Andromache Chalfant for Hartford Stage's " Reverberation"

For outstanding lighting design: Matthew Richards for Hartford Stage's "Hamlet;" John Lassiter for Goodspeed's "Fiddler on the Roof;" David Lander for Hartford Stage's "Ether Dome;" Tyler Micoleau for Yale Rep's "Elevada;" Matthew Richards for Hartford Stage's "Reverberation" 

For outstanding costume design: Fabio Toblini for Hartford Stage's "Kiss Me, Kate;"  Tracy Christensen for Goodspeed's "Guys & Dolls;" Alejo Vietti for Goodspeed's "Holiday Inn;"  Fabio Toblini for Hartford Stage's "Hamlet;" and Jessica Ford for Westport Playhouse's "The Liar."

For outstanding sound design: Adam Phalen for Long Wharf's  "Forever;" Jane Shaw for Hartford Stage's "Hamlet;" David Budries for Long Wharf's "Picasso at Lapin Agile;" Kate Marvin for Yale Rep's "Elevada" and Matt Tierney for Yale Rep's "The Caucasian Chalk Circle."

For outstanding debut: Dina Shihabi in Long Wharf's "Picasso and Lapin Agile;" Brittany Vicars in Hartford Stage's "Hamlet;" Carl Lundstedt in Hartford Stage's "Reverberation" and Curtis J. Cook in Long Wharf's "brownsville song: b-side for tray."

Correction: An earlier version had the incorrect spelling for Zach Appelman who was nominated for best actor in a play. 










Copyright © 2018, CT Now