Jon Hamm of 'Mad Men'

Jon Hamm of 'Mad Men'

The closing chapters of "The Wire" and the stylish first season of "Mad Men" lead the nominees for the 2008 Television Critics Association Awards.

Each show earned four nominations, the most of any program, and both are up for the top honor of program of the year. They'll also compete for the outstanding drama award, and "Wire" creator David Simon and "Mad Men" star Jon Hamm are also nominated for individual achievement in drama.

The other nominees for program of the year are Ken Burns' epic PBS documentary "The War," HBO's miniseries " John Adams" and ABC's "Lost."

HBO leads all networks with 10 nominations, followed closely by PBS with nine. NBC has seven, ABC six and AMC five, its best showing ever.

Cable shows dominated the best new program category, taking up four of the five spots. In addition to "Mad Men," fellow AMC series "Breaking Bad," FX's "Damages" and HBO's comedy "Flight of the Conchords" picked up nominations for best new show, along with ABC's "Pushing Daisies."

"The Wire" is also among the nominees for the Heritage Award, which honors a show that's had a significant impact on the TV landscape. The other nominees are "Roots," "Sesame Street," "Saturday Night Live" and "M*A*S*H." The career achievement nominees are James Garner, Lorne Michaels, Bill Moyers, William Shatner and Mike Wallace.

The TCA Awards are scheduled for Saturday, July 19. The full list of nominees:


"John Adams" (HBO)
"Lost" (ABC)
"Mad Men" (AMC)
"Ken Burns' The War" (PBS)
"The Wire" (HBO)


"30 Rock" (NBC)
"The Colbert Report" (Comedy Central)
"The Daily Show" (Comedy Central)
"Flight of the Conchords" (HBO)
"The Office" (NBC)