Chicago Magazine names 100 Most Powerful Chicagoans

Chicago Mayor Rahm Emanuel tops Chicago Magazine's list of the 100 Most Powerful Chicagoans.

To see more details on each person selected, visit

1. Rahm Emanuel, Mayor, City of Chicago

2. Patrick Fitzgerald, U.S. attorney, Northern District of Illinois

3. Jim Skinner, CEO, McDonald’s

4. Mike Madigan, Speaker, Illinois House

5. Rocky Wirtz, Chairman, Chicago Blackhawks

6. David Axelrod, Chief strategist, Obama 2012

7. Derrick Rose, Point guard, Chicago Bulls

8. Penny Pritzker, Founder and CEO, Pritzker Realty Group

9. Grant Achatz, Chef and restaurateur

10. Eric Lefkofsky, Cofounder and chairman, Groupon

11. Andrew Mason, Cofounder and CEO, Groupon

12. Irene Rosenfeld, Chairman and CEO, Kraft

13. Toni Preckwinkle, President, Cook County Board of Commissioners

14. Jerry Reinsdorf, Chairman, Chicago Bulls and White Sox

15. Miles White, Chairman and CEO, Abbott Laboratories

16. Garry McCarthy, Superintendent, Chicago Police Department

17. Joe Mansueto, Founder and CEO, Morningstar

18. Cardinal Francis George, Archbishop of Chicago

19. Ed Burke, Alderman, 14th Ward

20. J.B. Pritzker, Cofounder and managing partner, The Pritzker Group

21. Bradley Keywell, Investor and tech entrepreneur

22. Jeff Smisek, CEO, United Continental Holdings

23. Roger Ebertm Film critic, Chicago Sun-Times

24. Robert Zimmer, President, University of Chicago

25. Ann Lurie, Philanthropist

26. Sam Zell, Chairman, Equity Group Investments

27. Jean-Claude Brizard, Superintendent, Chicago Public Schools

28. Lisa Madigan,Attorney general, State of Illinois

29. Otis Moss III, Pastor, Trinity United Church of Christ

30. Tom Ricketts, Chairman, Chicago Cubs

31. Greg Wasson, President and CEO, Walgreen

32. Larry Goodman, CEO, Rush University Medical Center

33. Dick Durbin, United States senator

34. Rick Bayless, Chef and restaurateur

35. John Rogers, Founder, chairman, and CEO, Ariel Investments

36. Anita Alvarez, State’s attorney, Cook County

37. Tom Pritzker, Executive chairman, Hyatt

38. John Canning, Chairman, Madison Dearborn Partners

39. Ted Phillips, President and CEO, Chicago Bears
40. Martha Lavey, Artistic director, Steppenwolf Theatre

41. Ken Griffin, Founder and CEO, Citadel

42. Paul Kahan, Chef and restaurateur

43. Jorge Ramirez, President, Chicago Federation of Labor
44. Matt Hynes, Director, Office of Legislative Counsel and Government Affairs, City of Chicago
45. John McDonough, President and CEO, Chicago Blackhawks

46. Sunil Kumar, Dean, Booth School of Business, University of Chicago

47. Karen Lewis, President, Chicago Teachers Union

48. Theo Epstein, President of baseball operations, Chicago Cubs

49. Craig Donohue, CEO, CME Group

50. Patricia Hemingway Hall, President and CEO, Health Care Service Corporation

51. Patrick Ryan, CEO, Ryan Specialty Group

52. Michael Sacks, CEO, Grosvenor Capital Management

53. Jeanne Gang, Founder and principal, Studio Gang Architects

54. Bill Hybels, Pastor, Willow Creek Community Church

55. Mark Angelson, Deputy mayor, City of Chicago

56. Richard Melman, Founder and chairman, Lettuce Entertain You Enterprises
57. Neil Bluhm, Managing principal, Walton Street Capital

58. Thomas Cole, Chair, executive committee, Sidley Austin

59. Richard M. Daley, Former mayor, City of Chicago

60. Robert Falls, Artistic director, Goodman Theatre

61. Mellody Hobson, President, Ariel Investments

62. Francie Comer, Philanthropist

63. James Crown, President, Henry Crown and Company

64. Deborah DeHaas, Vice chairman, Deloitte

65. Dan Webb, Chairman, Winston & Strawn

66. Joan Harris, Philanthropist

67. Richard Posner, Judge, United States Court of Appeals

68. Martin Cabrera Jr., Founder and CEO, Cabrera Capital Markets

69. Richard SandorFounder and CEO, Environmental Financial Products

70. James Reynolds Jr., Cofounder and CEO, Loop Capital

71. Eboo Patel, Founder, Interfaith Youth Core

72. Deborah Rutter, President, Chicago Symphony Orchestra

73. Desirée Rogers, CEO, Johnson Publishing Company

74. Dick Duchossois, Chairman, Duchossois Group

75. Brendan Sodikoff, Chef and entrepreneur

76. Barbara Gaines, Artistic director, Chicago Shakespeare Theater

77. Danny Sólis, Alderman, 25th Ward

78. Douglas Druick, President, Art Institute of Chicago

79. Linda Johnson Rice, Chairman, Johnson Publishing Company

80. Dan McCaffery, Chairman and CEO, McCaffery Interests

81. Patrick O’Connor, Alderman, 40th Ward

82. Julia Stasch, Vice president, U.S. Programs, MacArthur Foundation
83. Jim Thompson, Senior chairman, Winston & Strawn

84. John Bryan, Chairman, NATO/G8 host committee

85. Joanne C. Smith, President and CEO, Rehabilitation Institute of Chicago

86. Andrew Alexander, Co-owner and CEO, The Second City

87. Michelle Boone, Commissioner, Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events, City of Chicago

88. Michael Pfleger, Pastor, St. Sabina Catholic Church

89. Scott Harris, Restaurateur

90. Bruce Rauner, Chairman, GTCR Golden Rauner

91. Vince Vaughn, Actor and producer

92. Devin Hester, Wide receiver, Chicago Bears

93. Andrew J. McKenna, Chairman, Schwarz Supply Source

94. Lou Raizin, President, Broadway in Chicago

95. R. Bruce Dold, Editorial page editor, Chicago Tribune

96. Tony Hu, Restaurateur

97. Ikram Goldman, Owner, Ikram

98. Melody Spann-Cooper, President, Midway Broadcasting Corporation

99. Bill Daley, Cochair, Obama 2012

100. Marc Weissbluth, Founder, Sleep Medicine Center at Children’s Memorial Hospital