Sign up today and save up to 67% on a Hartford Courant digital subscription

PGA Championship

Mickelson uses wrong ball, US penalized 2 holes

The International team wound up winning two holes in one at the Presidents Cup on Friday when Phil Mickelson didn't know the rules. Mickelson was not aware of the one-ball condition for his fourballs match, switching to a different model to give him a better chance of reaching the par-5 seventh green. The rules committee made a mistake of its own to compound the error in a bizarre sequence of events. The result? Jason Day and Adam Scott went from all square to 2 up in just one hole. Mickelson's mistake wound up costing the Americans a half-point when the match ended in a draw. "It's a strange situation," said Mark Russell, the vice president of rules and...