Jon Rahm was involved in a thorny rules situation that briefly cost him two strokes.
Walking up to his ball on No. 17, the Spaniard noticed a vine lying nearby that he wanted to move. Thinking the plant was dead, he pulled it away. That’s when another player, Lee Westwood, came over and noticed the piece of plant was still connected to the ground.
“I got there and I thought it was a loose impediment because it looked dead, so I just moved it to the side,” Rahm said. “And that’s when Lee came and he realized it was attached.”
The two summoned a rules official who asked Rahm if he had improved his lie, a two-shot penalty. Rahm insisted he...