Nate Burleson

"NFL Today" heads into 50th year on CBS

You are looking live — at the 50th year of "The NFL Today."

That catch phrase for the CBS pregame show dates back to the days of Brent Musburger as host. James Brown has that role now, and was preceded by the likes of Frank Gifford, Jack Whitaker, Pat Summerall and Greg Gumbel. The current cast includes Bill Cowher, Boomer Esiason and newcomers Nate Burleson and Phil Simms, who moved over after Tony Romo replaced him as the network's lead game analyst.

"The NFL Today's" mission remains the same, regardless of who is in studio.

"Information and entertainment," says producer Drew Kaliski. "We want to educate the viewers and we want...