Eric Winston

DeMaurice Smith re-elected as head of NFL players' union

DeMaurice Smith has been re-elected as executive director of the players' union in a special committee vote.

Under guidelines passed since his last election as NFL Players Association head in 2015, a 14-player selection committee could bypass a full membership election.

That committee, made up of the 11 members of the NFLPA executive committee plus the three longest-serving player representatives, reviews the sitting executive director. That group can then call for an election to keep the incumbent in office, and the vote must be unanimous.

The 14-0 vote took place Tuesday night.

"After a comprehensive and professional process in line with our...