Evan Lysacek

Milwaukee awarded 2015 Skate America

Milwaukee awarded 2015 Skate America

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. -- Milwaukee has been awarded Skate America in 2015, the first time the city will host a major international figure skating event.

The competition will take place Oct. 22-25, the first of six stops on the International Skating Union's Grand Prix of Figure Skating Series.

U.S. Figure Skating announced the selection Monday and said the competition will be held at UW-Milwaukee Panther Arena. The two-day event will feature 56 competitors in men's and women's singles, pairs and ice dance.

Past Skate America champions include Michelle Kwan, Kristi Yamaguchi, Scott Hamilton, Evan Lysacek and Meryl Davis and Charlie White.