Minnesota Lynx

WNBA refs botch call again, this one in decisive Game 5

For the second time in a week during the WNBA Finals, the league acknowledged a late officiating mistake.

The WNBA said the officials missed a shot clock violation in the deciding Game 5 on Thursday night in which the Los Angeles Sparks beat the defending champion Minnesota Lynx 77-76.

"After reviewing postgame video, we have determined that Nneka Ogwumike's shot with 1:14 remaining in regulation time should not have counted due to a shot-clock violation, and that the referees improperly failed to review the play under the instant replay rules," Renee Brown, WNBA chief of basketball operations and player relations, said in a statement Friday.