Dallas Mavericks

AP Source: Deron Williams headed to Cavs after Mavs waiver

LeBron James wanted a playmaker to help the Cleveland Cavaliers. Deron Williams is ready to be that guy.

The Dallas Mavericks waived Williams on Thursday, and the five-time All-Star is now looking to join the Cavaliers as they pursue a second straight championship, a person with knowledge of the situation told The Associated Press. The person spoke on condition of anonymity because Williams has to clear waivers before signing with Cleveland.

Williams averaged 13.1 points and 6.9 assists for the Mavericks this season. The 32-year-old is in his 12th season and loved playing in Dallas. But the Mavericks resume play after the All-Star break on Friday night in Minnesota sitting...