Whether you agreed with it, Southern Methodist Coach Larry Brown raised an interesting point about the goaltending call that gave UCLA a one-point win over his team Thursday.
The veteran coach didn't complain about the decision itself. His beef was that while parts of the determining play were reviewable using instant replay, the most important aspect was not.
Game officials checked whether UCLA guard Bryce Alford was behind the three-point line when he launched the ball. But whether SMU forward Yanick Moreira touched it, whether it was over or on the rim — and whether the shot had a chance to go in — was not, by rule, allowed an additional look.
"Why would you have...