The Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences has selected 41 students from 23 U.S. colleges and universities, and 10 students from foreign universities, as finalists in its annual Student Academy Awards competition.

The Student Academy Awards were established in 1972 to support filmmaking at the collegiate level. Past Student Academy Award winners have gone on to receive 46 Oscar nominations and have won or shared eight awards. They include John Lasseter, Pete Docter, Robert Zemeckis, Trey Parker and Spike Lee.

The finalists were chosen by four regional nominating committees (three domestic, one international). Screenings will be held in L.A. to determine winners, with voting done by AMPAS members who can attend.

Those voters will determine up to three films in each category, with gold, silver and bronze medals. The winners (but not their medal placements) will be announced this month. The winning students will be brought to Los Angeles for a week of industry activities and social events that will culminate in the awards ceremony on June 7, at 6 p.m., at the DGA Theater in Hollywood, at which time the medalists' placement will be revealed.

The finalists are (listed alphabetically by film title):

"Dreamers," Joseph Dwyer, Boston University
"Entropic Apogee," Bill Manolios, Art Institute of California - San Francisco
"Jaspa' Jenkins," Robert Carnilius, Columbia College Chicago
"Oscillate," Daniel Sierra, School of Visual Arts, New York
"Passer Passer," Louis Morton, University of Southern California
"Person," Drew Brown and Ramona Ramdeen, The Art Institute of Jacksonville, Florida
"The Private Life of Fenfen," Leslie Tai, Stanford University
"Staircases," Steinar Bergoy Nedrebo, School of Visual Arts, New York

"Baxter," Ty Coyle, Savannah College of Art and Design, Georgia
"Goodnight Boon," Jeremy Jensen, New York University
"Higher Sky," Teng Cheng, University of Southern California
"Marcel," Eric Cunha and Seung Sung, School of Visual Arts, New York