The Make-Up Artists and Hair Stylists Guild spread the wealth Saturday night as awards-race frontrunners like "American Hustle" and "Dallas Buyers Club" were joined by a couple of dark horses in this season's derby.

In the feature film category, "Lee Daniels' The Butler" won for best contemporary hair styling and "Prisoners" (pictured) took the trophy for best contemporary makeup, while "American Hustle" and "Dallas Buyers Club" were honored, respectively, for best period and/or character hair styling and best period and/or character makeup.

"Jackass Presents: Bad Grandpa" got the award for best special makeup effects.

In the episodic television and new media series category, "The Voice" was recognized for contemporary hair styling and "Breaking Bad" got the nod for contemporary makeup.

The period and/or character hair styling award went to "Vikings" while "Boardwalk Empire" got the award for period and/or character makeup. "Walking Dead" won for best makeup effects.

In the TV mini-series and TV movie category, "Behind the Candelabra" was a double winner, taking the award for period and/or character hair styling as well as for period and/or character makeup.

Johnny Depp was on hand to receive the Guild's Distinguished Artisan Award, presented by Oscar-winning makeup artist Joel Harlow, who is currently nominated for the Academy Award for his work on Depp-starrer "The Lone Ranger."

Another Oscar winner, Gail Ryan, was presented with the Hair Stylists Lifetime Achievement Award by Benicio Del Toro. Rick Baker presented the Make-Up Artists Lifetime Achievement Award to Oscar winner Dick Smith.

The best makeup/hair styling trophy for live productions went to "Magic Flute," and the "Wash the Day Away" Delta Airlines spot won the contemporary makeup award for commercials.,

Actor/comedian Tom Arnold served as host. Presenters included Jane Lynch, Johnny Knoxville, June Squibb, Ed Asner, Nicollette Sheridan, Tippi Hedren, Joelle Carter, Adewale Akinnuaoye-Agbaje. Milissa Leo, Kat Graham and Camilla Luddington.

Guild president Sue Cabral-Ebert presided over the event, which was was held at the Paramount lot. More than 500 guild members, execs and press attended.

The full winners list follows:


"Lee Daniels' The Butler"
Candace Neal
Robert Stevenson

"Prisoners "