LONDON - Scarlett Johansson goes head to head with Judi Dench in the contest for best actress at the Moët British Independent Film Awards. Nominations were unveiled Monday by Ewan McGregor.

Dench, who is nommed for "Philomena," and Johansson, who is up for "Under the Skin," vie with Lindsay Duncan for "Le Week-end," Felicity Jones for "The Invisible Woman" and Saoirse Ronan for "How I Live Now."

"Philomena" and "The Invisible Woman" are two of the few movies that are in the Oscar race this year. The films are distributed Stateside by Weinstein Co. and Sony Pictures Classics, respectively. Otherwise, many of the films nominated for the British Independent Awards were not released in the U.S. this past year, and thus ineligible for Oscar. Only twist in the Oscar race is that Steve Coogan was nommed as lead actor in "Philomena," though many consider him supporting.

The International Independent category includes two entries from the U.S., Woody Allen's "Blue Jasmine" and Noah Baumbach's "Frances Ha."

David Mackenzie's "Starred Up" leads the pack chasing the awards, with eight noms, including film, director, screenplay for Jonathan Asser, actor for Jack O'Connell, and two supporting actor noms for Rupert Friend and Ben Mendelsohn.

"The Selfish Giant" picked up seven nominations, and "Filth," "Metro Manila" and "Le Week-end" all picked up five nominations each.

Along with O'Connell for "Starred Up," leading men hoping to take home the actor award include Jim Broadbent for "Le Week-end," Steve Coogan for "Philomena," Tom Hardy for "Locke" and James McAvoy for "Filth."

More than 200 films were up for consideration in an extremely competitive year, according to Johanna von Fischer and Tessa Collinson, joint directors of the awards. "The variety of films submitted reached a new level this year with films covering a range of subject-matters and genres that perfectly showcases the diversity and creativity at work in British independent filmmaking today," they said in a joint statement.

Ben Roberts, director of the BFI Film Fund, said: "Where other awards sometimes fear to tread, the (awards) put the wild creativity of British independent filmmaking front and center. This year we have witnessed a renewed confidence in bold U.K. filmmaking, which has been recognized around the world and will inspire a new generation of talent."

A pre-selection committee of 70 members viewed more than 200 films, out of which they selected the nominations, which were decided by ballot.

The winners are decided by a jury comprised of Penny Woolcock (director), Antonia Campbell-Hughes (actress), Art Malik (actor), Ate de Jong (director), Bart Layton (director), James Floyd (actor), Jill McCullough (dialect coach), Julien Temple (director), Liza Marshall (producer), MyAnna Buring (actress), Natascha McElhone (actress), Pippa Harris (producer), Roland Gift (musician), Sally El Hosaini (director), Sandy Powell (costume designer), and Steve Hamilton Shaw (producer).

The awards ceremony will be hosted by actor James Nesbitt on Dec. 8 at the Old Billingsgate in London. It will be streamed live exclusively on from 8 p.m. GMT.

Metro Manila
The Selfish Giant
Starred Up
Le Week-end