The Gaylord Herald Times has been named the Newspaper of the Year for 2011 in the Michigan Press Association annual competition.
   The Herald Times collected 15 awards enroute to being named Newspaper of the Year, including six firsts, four seconds and six thirds.
   One of the first place awards was to the staff for General Excellence.
   The General Excellence judge commented: “Great package overall. Outstanding breaking news coverage, and individual feature pages. Nice variety of layout and graphics, while still being a cohesive whole. Good choices of type, vibrant photos, great range of ads. Nice, tight classified section. Haven’t missed a thing in the easy to find sections just full of news and features.”
   The Herald Times had three multiple award winners in the Better Newspaper Contest.
   Chris Engle took four awards, two firsts and two thirds.  Jeremy Speer took three awards, two firsts and a second. And Jim Ryan won two thirds.
   The Herald Times contest winners were:
   Firsts – Chris Engle, Feature Picture, “Big Ticket Moments”; Engle, Sports Column; Jeremy Speer, Sports Feature, “Earning Their Stripes”; Speer, Engle and Jim Ryan, Sports Coverage; and Frank Miichels, Lifestyle pages.
   Seconds – Lorene Parshall, Newspaper Enterprise Reporting, “Special Report: Alpine Haus Fire – One Year Later”; Matt Wenzel, Feature Picture, “Upsetting the queen”; Bill Serveny, Sports Picture, “GHS cheerleaders on fire”; Speer, Sports Feature, “Iron Five: A team, a coach and the game they love”.
   Thirds – Michael Jones, Spot News Story, “Gaylord students in Cairo”; Engle, Local Columnist, “Word Sandwich”; Engle, Picture Story, “A day in the Pigeon River”; Ryan, Sports Column, “Fuel for thought”; Ryan, Sports Feature, “The GHS hockey family”.