Mark Teixeira, Huston Street and Brad Lidge were among 22 players who avoided arbitration by agreeing to contracts Thursday, one day before teams and players exchange figures.

Toronto reliever Scott Downs cashed in on a breakout season, getting a $10 million, three-year deal. The only other player to get a multiyear contract was Blue Jays infielder Marco Scutaro ($2.65 million for two years).

The biggest deal of the day went to Teixeira, Atlanta's slugging first baseman who is eligible for free agency after this season. He agreed to a $12.5 million contract, one of four Braves players coming to terms rather than going through arbitration. The others were reliever Mike Gonzalez ($2,362,500), infielder Omar Infante ($1.4 million) and right-hander Tyler Yates ($800,000).

Street and the Oakland Athletics agreed at $3.3 million. The 2005 AL Rookie of the Year was limited to 48 outings last season because of an irritated nerve in his right elbow that landed the closer on the disabled list for two months.

In all, 27 of the 110 players who filed for arbitration Tuesday have reached agreements. Ryan Howard, Miguel Cabrera and Francisco Rodriguez are among the big stars still in arbitration. Dozens more players were expected to reach deals before teams and players exchange figures Friday.

Hearings are scheduled for the first three weeks of February in St. Petersburg.

The 110 players who filed for salary arbitration Tuesday (x-free agent who accepted arbitration; y-agreed to terms after filing). Players and teams will exchange proposed salaries Friday:


BALTIMORE (2): Erik Bedard, lhp; Daniel Cabrera, rhp.
BOSTON (3): Javier Lopez, lhp; Kyle Snyder, rhp; Kevin Youkilis, 1b.
CHICAGO (1): Joe Crede, 3b.
CLEVELAND (2): Rafael Betancourt, rhp; Casey Blake, 3b.
DETROIT (4): Miguel Cabrera, 3b; y-Nate Robertson, lhp; Bobby Seay, lhp; Marcus Thames, lf.
KANSAS CITY (7): John Buck, c; Jorge De La Rosa, lhp; Esteban German, 2b; Ross Gload, 1b; Jimmy Gobble, lhp; Zack Greinke, rhp; Mark Teahen, rf.
LOS ANGELES (4): Maicer Izturis, 3b; Casey Kotchman, 1b; Juan Rivera, rf; Francisco Rodriguez, rhp.
MINNESOTA (5): Michael Cuddyer, rf; Matthew Guerrier, rhp; Jason Kubel, lf; Justin Morneau, 1b; Juan Rincon, rhp.
NEW YORK (4): Wilson Betemit, 3b; Brian Bruney, rhp; Robinson Cano, 2b; Chien-Ming Wang, rhp.
OAKLAND (3): Joe Blanton, rhp; Chad Gaudin, rhp; Huston Street, rhp.
SEATTLE (2): Horacio Ramirez, lhp; y-George Sherrill, lhp.