3 mayors, 15 commission candidates win election

Eighteen city candidates in Broward County – including three mayors – won automatic election Friday because no one filed to run against them.

Mayors Richard Kaplan of Lauderhill, Jack Brady of North Lauderdale and Michael Udine of Parkland were unopposed when qualifying ended at noon.

Dania Beach voters will finally replace Commissioner Pat Flury, who resigned a year ago. Every commission attempt to appoint a replacement has deadlocked 2-2.

Pompano Beach and Oakland Park are holding their city elections in November for the first time. All five Pompano Beach seats will be on the ballot. Oakland Park's two open seats will be filled through an at-large race by the top two finishers, not in individual races as in the past.

There will be one less commission seat to fill in Lauderdale Lakes, where the number of commissioners is dropping from six to five this year, and then to four in 2016.

Election qualifiers, by city:

Cooper City

Elected without opposition: Commissioner Lisa Mallozzi

Commission, District 1: Michael J. de Miranda, John Sims*

Coral Springs

Elected without opposition: Commissioner Dan Daley*

Mayor: Roy Gold, Tom Powers

Commission, Seat 4: Lou Cimaglia, Howard Irwin Melamed

Commission, Seat 5: Joy Carter, Andy Holz, Laurette Homan

Dania Beach

Commission (elect two): Charles Camacho Jr., Bobbie Grace*, James Ridgely III, Marco Salvino Sr., Rae Sandler

Hallandale Beach

Commission, Seat 1: Gerald Dean, Ann Pearl Henigson, Chuck Kulin, Anthony Sanders*

Commission, Seat 2: Leo Grachow*(appointed), Keith London

Lauderdale Lakes