Florida Delegation

The 2010 midterm elections produced a new senator and eight new House members to represent Florida. Only one of the newcomers is a Democrat.

Delegation total: 2 senators and 25 House members

In 2009/2010: Florida Republicans outnumbered Democrats 16 to 11.

For 2011/2012: Florida Republicans will outnumber Democrats 20 to 7.

New members:

In the Senate:

Marco Rubio, R-Fla., age 39. The senator-elect from West Miami is a former speaker of the Florida House. He replaces George LeMieux.

In the House:

Allen West, R-Plantation, age 49. The retired Army lieutenant colonel defeated Democrat Ron Klein to represent parts of Palm Beach and Broward counties.

Dan Webster, R- Winter Park, age 61. The former state senator defeated flamboyant Democrat Alan Grayson to win a seat in the Orlando area.

David Rivera, R-Miami, age 45. The former state legislator will represent the southern Miami area in Congress. The district was vacated by Mario Diaz-Balart, who was elected instead in a district straddling Broward and Miami-Dade counties formerly represented by his brother, Lincoln.

Sandy Adams, R-Orlando, age 54. The conservative former state legislator and deputy sheriff defeated Democrat Suzanne Kosmas to represent part of Central Florida.

Frederica Wilson, D- Miami Gardens, age 68. The former school principal and state legislator replaces Kendrick Meek to represent parts of Miami-Dade and Broward counties.

Dennis Ross, R-Lakeland, age 59. The former state legislator will represent a rural district in Central Florida and replaces Adam Putnam, who was elected agriculture commissioner.

Steve Southerland, R-Panama City, age 45. The funeral home director will represent a Panhandle district after defeating veteran Democrat Allen Boyd.

Rich Nugent, R-Spring Hill, age 59. The sheriff of Hernando County was hand-picked to replace Ginny Brown-Waite to represent a district in the exurbs of Tampa and Orlando.

Returning senator: Democrat Bill Nelson

Returning House Democrats: