Costume Designers Guild hands out annual awards
"Blades of Glory," "Sweeney Todd" and "The Golden Compass" won the 10th annual Costume Designers Guild Awards in feature film Tuesday evening.

Julie Weiss won the excellence in contemporary film award for the Will Ferrell comedy "Blades of Glory"; Colleen Atwood won the Costume Designers Guild prize for excellence in period film for the dark musical "Sweeney Todd" and Ruth Myers received the prize for excellence in fantasy film for "The Golden Compass." Myers also received the Lacoste Career Achievement in Film Award. Atwood is also nominated for an Academy Award.

The awards, presented in seven categories for costume design in films, television and commercials, were handed out at a gala hosted by Anjelica Huston at the Beverly Wilshire Hotel. Other winners announced Tuesday were:

Outstanding made-for-TV movie or miniseries: Mario Davignon, "Bury My Heart at Wounded Knee."

Outstanding contemporary television series: Eduardo Castro, "Ugly Betty."

Outstanding period/fantasy television series: Robert Blackman, "Pushing Daisies."

Excellence in commercial costume design: Deborah Ferguson, Capitol One "Princess Kiss."

Swarovski President's Award: Paula Wagner.

Distinguished Director/Producer Award: James Mangold and Cathy Konrad.

Career Achievement in Television Award: Ray Aghayan.