RSS feeds allow Web site content to be gathered via feed reader software. Click the subscribe link to obtain the feed URL for this page. The feed will update when new content appears on this page.

Elizabeth Taylor

A collection of news and information related to Elizabeth Taylor published by this site and its partners.

Top Elizabeth Taylor Articles

Displaying items 45-55
  • Andy Warhol in 'Headlines' at Washington's National Gallery

    Andy Warhol in 'Headlines' at Washington's National Gallery
    Andy Warhol, the guru of Pop art, reveled in a lifelong obsession with newspapers, especially tabloids and their garish headlines. As a teenager, he saved pages with photos of his favorite Hollywood stars. Throughout his life he packed hundreds of...
  • 'Elizabeth and Hazel: Two Women of Little Rock' by David Margolick

    'Elizabeth and Hazel: Two Women of Little Rock' by David Margolick
    The photograph, taken Sept. 4, 1957, is one of most memorable from the civil rights movement: Elizabeth Eckford, one of the "Little Rock Nine" African-American students, in her neat white dress, clasps her books to her breast and holds her head high, with...
  • Looking into the female heart

    Looking into the female heart
    While Samuel Park's mother sliced vegetables at the kitchen table, she told her son dramatic tales of her youth in South Korea after the Korean War. Park, the youngest child with two older sisters, found himself easily embroiled in the fantasies,...
  • 'The New Yorker Stories' by Ann Beattie

    'The New Yorker Stories' by Ann Beattie
    Between the presidencies of Richard Nixon/Gerald Ford (1974) and George W. Bush (2006), Ann Beattie published 48 stories in The New Yorker, one of which was included in "The Best American Short Stories of the Century." These stories are collected in...
  • 'Marriage Plot' gives new twist to old tale

    'Marriage Plot' gives new twist to old tale
    The trouble with love triangles is, somebody almost always has to lose. This is a defect in real life, so why shouldn't it be a problem in fiction too? The endings of Joe Orton's "Entertaining Mr. Sloane" and James L. Brooks' "Broadcast News" each got...
  • Laurel Park celebrates 100th birthday

    Laurel Park celebrates 100<sup>t</sup><sup>h</sup> birthday
    Deep in the bowels of Laurel Park, beneath the oval where Secretariat, Seabiscuit and Barbaro once tread, runs a tunnel. It's a long-forgotten passage that bigwigs once used to escape the raucous crowds above. Queen Elizabeth II, who raced a horse at...
  • Elizabeth Taylor remembered by celebrity friends at private service in Burbank

    Elizabeth Taylor remembered by celebrity friends at private service in Burbank
    Some 400 people, including many famous friends, gathered in a theater at the Warner Bros. studio lot in Burbank to remember the illustrious life and career of Elizabeth Taylor. Actors Colin Farrell and Michael Caine and singer Elton John joined family...
  • The stars align for kabbalah

    The stars align for kabbalah
    Second of two parts When Philip Berg decided in the early 1970s to teach kabbalah to the masses, he predicted that orthodox rabbis would stone him and his wife, Karen. For a long time, that seemed a pompous overstatement. Few people had even heard of the...
  • Make-up calls – and musings on the 2011 Man Booker

    Make-up calls &#8211; and musings on the 2011 Man Booker
    In the sporting world, there is something called the "make-up call." Umpires and referees deny it exists, but the idea is that when they blow a call — and the crowd is always happy to point out when this has occurred, employing the time-honored...
  • 'You Deserve Nothing' by Alexander Maksik

    'You Deserve Nothing' by Alexander Maksik
    Fans of "Good-Bye, Mr. Chips" and "Dead Poets Society" may be drawn to "You Deserve Nothing," for it shares the ever-rich context of a gifted teacher who inspires even troubled students to great success. This first novel, however, set in Paris at an...
  • Story: An evening with Jeffrey Eugenides

    Story: An evening with Jeffrey Eugenides
    Some things are made to order when it comes to themes of near-universal interest: love, romance, coming of age. And yes, hard times for hope when adult life gets under way during recessionary economic times. How rich the experience, then, for those who...