Laura Dern

Film academy diversifies leadership with new governors

The film academy is taking more steps to diversify, with three women and two black filmmakers newly elected to leadership positions.

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences announced its newly elected board of governors on Monday. The list includes six first-time representatives: director Steven Spielberg, actress Laura Dern, costume designer Sharen K. Davis, documentarian Roger Ross Williams, composer Laura Karpman and sound engineer Kevin Collier.

Each of the academy's 17 branches is represented by three governors, who are elected to three-year terms.

The film academy announced sweeping efforts in January to diversify its membership after a second year of...