Stewart charges to win at Kansas, fourth in Chase standings
Stewart said Gordon was coming fast in his rearview mirror.

"He was getting bigger," Stewart said. "The big thing was not to drive the tires off. We had a little left, but we didn't leave too much out there."

Biffle was third, followed by Juan Pablo Montoya, Denny Hamlin, Kahne and Martin.

David Reutimann was the only non-Chase driver in the top 11 with an eighth-place finish.

Chase leaders

1. Mark Martin


2. Jimmie Johnson


3. Juan Montoya


4. Tony Stewart


5. Kurt Busch


6. Denny Hamlin


7. Jeff Gordon


8. Greg Biffle