Anchor, investigative reporter and political commentator Walter Jacobson has won more than 40 Emmys for his reporting and commentaries on three television stations: WBBM, WMAQ and WFLD. He is the author of “Walter’s Perspective: A Memoir of Fifty Years in Chicago TV News.”

Gary T. Johnson

Gary T. Johnson is the president of the Chicago History Museum. He is also the president of Museums in the Park, a coalition of 11 of Chicago’s major museums.

Parneshia Jones

Parneshia Jones is a recipient of the Gwendolyn Brooks Poetry Award and has published in several anthologies, including “She Walks in Beauty: A Woman’s Journey Through Poems,” edited by Caroline Kennedy. Jones is poetry editor for Northwestern University Press.

A. Van Jordan

A. Van Jordan is the author of four collections: “Rise,” “M-A-C-N-O-L-I-A,” “Quantum Lyrics” and “The Cineaste.” His awards include the Whiting Writers’ Award and a Guggenheim Fellowship.

Marvin Kalb

Marvin Kalb focuses on media’s impact on public policy and politics. He also is an expert in national security, with a focus on U.S. relations with Russia, Europe and the Middle East. His most recent book is “The Road to War.”

Cynthia Kallile

Cynthia Kallile blends 30 years of corporate experience with a lifelong interest in food at her storefront restaurant, The Meatloaf Bakery. Kallile is the author of “The Meatloaf Bakery Cookbook: Comfort Food With a Twist.”

Dot Kane

Dot Kane performs her storytelling shows all over the Chicago area, has a weekly in-house TV show at Lurie Children’s Hospital, and performs the Dot and Susan Show with the singer/songwriter Susan Salidor.

John Kass

John Kass is an award-winning Chicago Tribune journalist who has covered a variety of topics since arriving at the paper in 1983. The son of a Greek immigrant grocer, Kass grew up on Chicago’s South Side and in Oak Lawn, and studied film at Columbia College in Chicago.

Julia Keller

Julia Keller is a former culture critic for the Chicago Tribune, where she won a Pulitzer Prize. She is the author of "A Killing in the Hills." A recipient of a Nieman Fellowship at Harvard University, she was born in West Virginia and splits her time between Chicago and Ohio.

James Kennedy

James Kennedy is the author of the young adult fantasy “The Order of Odd-Fish” and the founder of the 90-Second Newbery Film Festival, in which young filmmakers create movies that tell the entire plot of a Newbery award-winning book in 90 seconds or less.

Thomas E. Kennedy

Thomas E. Kennedy’s novels include “In the Company of Angels,” “Falling Sideways,” and “Kerrigan in Copenhagen.” Kennedy teaches writing at Fairleigh Dickinson University.