Dulaney boys stop Hereford's title streak in Baltimore County indoor track

For the eighth straight year, Hereford's girls prevailed at the Baltimore County track and field championships at the Maryland National Guard's Fifth Regiment Armory.

The No. 2 Bulls prevailed in a star-studded field that included four teams ranked in the top 10 of The Baltimore Sun poll and six in the top 15.

In the boys meet, No. 9 Dulaney ended top-ranked Hereford's streak of county championships at four straight.

The Lions won their first county title since 2008 in a field that included two teams ranked in the top 10 and four in the top 15.

Before the 1,600-meter run early in the meet, Hereford girls coach Brad Duvall said: "This is going to be a clinching race for us."

He proved to be prophetic, as the Bulls scored 20 points in the event and built a lead they never relinquished.

"Once that happened I was pretty confident," said Duvall, whose squad finished with 89 points.

No. 9 Milford Mill (78), No. 8 Western Tech (64), No. 4 Dulaney (44) and Franklin (40) rounded out the top five.

Senior Sarah Ashwood overtook Dulaney's Isabel Griffith in the final 100 meters and won the 1600 in a personal-best time of 5:09.60.

Griffith clocked 5:09.90 and Ashwood's running mates Erin Causey and Sarah Coffey were third and fourth for the champions.

"My strategy was to stay with her [Griffith] the whole time and kick at the end," Ashwood said. "She kept the pace. It was awesome. She's a great runner."

Griffith came back and won the 3,200-meter dash in 11:25.50.

Western Tech senior Sharon Dorsey also had an outstanding meet, setting a meet record in the 300 (40.70) and winning the 500 (1:18.50).

Dorsey's Wolverine teammate, Rebeka Holt, broke a meet record in the 800, previously set by Dulaney's Amanda White in 1993.

The Milford Mill girls were led by individual champions Toni Brown (55-meter dash) and Medinah Spencer (55-meter hurdles).

Franklin's Olivia Gruver set a meet record in pole vault (12 feet, six inches) and her Indian teammates Amanda Murphy and Christine Agoris went one-two in shot put.

Randallstown's Janae Ogelsby won the high jump.

Hereford's quartet of Melissa Meehling, Lacey Brown, Alicia Kozlowski and Meghan Anderson set a positive tone for the night by capturing the 3,200-meter relay.

Milford Mill won the 1,600-meter relay and Western Tech won the 800-meter relay.

The Dulaney boys captured its first title since 2008 with 71.50 points. They were followed by: No. 1 Hereford (62.50), Franklin (55), New Town (43), Catonsville and Milford Mill (tie-30).