Wrestler of the Year
Vince Taweel, Hammond

The 140-pound junior captured state, Class 2A-1A South and county titles for a third straight year in closing out the season with a 35-1 mark.

Overcoming shoulder surgery in the middle of the season, Taweel came away with a decisive 8-7 decision over Hereford's two-time state champ Josh Asper - his 100th career win - to lead the No. 3 Bears to their second straight Class 2A-1A state duals title. A three-time All-Metro selection, Taweel has a 111-7 career mark.

Coach of the Year
Rob Bowman, Glenelg

The Gladiators' six-year coach got plenty of mileage from his state qualifiers, largely due to the difficult tournament schedule and daily work in the practice room.

Senior 160-pounder Matt Bichner became Bowman's first state titlist and the program's first since 1997. Sophomore Dan Bichner placed second at 119, Brian Marcoux took third at 112 and Chris Stinnett finished fifth at 125 to give the Gladiators (10-5) a fourth-placing showing in the Class 2A-1A tournament.

First team
Weight Name School Class

103 Rob Eloshway Atholton Senior

112 Devon Gillett Hammond Junior

119 Dan Bichner Glenelg Soph.

125 Zach Halper Hammond Junior

125 Chris Stinnett Glenelg Soph.

130 Mike Montanez Centennial Senior

135 Jose Maldonado Hammond Senior

140 Vince Taweel Hammond Senior

145 Ryan Conroy Atholton Junior