Michael Chabon

Patchett, Chabon among nominees for book critics prizes

Ann Patchett, Michael Chabon and Zadie Smith were among the nominees announced Tuesday for the National Book Critics Circle Awards.

Books by Louise Erdrich and former U.S. poet laureate Robert Pinsky also were among 30 finalists in six competitive categories selected by the 42-year-old organization.

The critics circle bypassed Colson Whitehead's "The Underground Railroad," winner of the National Book Award for fiction and one of last year's most highly praised novels. It did include the winner of the National Book Award for nonfiction, Ibram X. Kendi's "Stamped from the Beginning: The Definitive History of Racist Ideas in America."

Margaret Atwood,...