NCAA needs to shake up enforcement efforts

Alabama tops going into NSD

Winning back-to-back national championships sure hasn't hurt Alabama's chances on the recruiting trail. A few days before National Signing Day Wednesday, the Crimson Tide appear to have a strong hold on the top spot among the national recruiting sites. Florida, Ohio State, Notre Dame, LSU, Michigan and USC are all battling for spots in the top five.

Busy time for the Big 12

We're only 34 days into the New Year, but the Big 12 has already garnered some early attention after conference commissioner Bob Bowlsby admitted to reporters the group is exploring the idea of a possible alliance with the ACC and two other leagues. Those other conferences could be the Pac-12 and SEC, which admitted to having preliminary talks with the Big 12. The pact could help boost nonconference scheduling among the participants while also slowing down the need for expansion. The Big 12 has remained steadfast that it prefers to stay a 10-member league. Bowlsby also acknowledged that the league will file a waiver with the NCAA to allow it to hold a conference championship game despite only having 10 members. Currently, NCAA rules dictate that a league must have a minimum of 12 members to hold a title game. The Big 12 and Big East are the only current BCS conference not to host a championship.

ACC names Legends

Former Maryland coach Gary Williams and former ACC commissioner Gene Corrigan headline a class of 13 individuals who will be inducted into the 2013 ACC Men's Basketball Legends Class. Joining Williams and Corrigan will be Gerry Ward (Boston College), Terrell McIntyre (Clemson), Trajan Langdon (Duke), Tharon Mayes (Florida State), Mark Price (Georgia Tech), Mike Wittman (Miami) Mike O'Koren (North Carolina), Dereck Whittenburg (N.C. State), Travis Watson (Virginia), Ace Custis (Virginia Tech) and Carl Tacy (Wake Forest). As part of the celebration surrounding the 60th anniversary of the ACC men's basketball tournament, the group will take part in festivities the week of the tournament held March 14-17 at the Greensboro Coliseum in Greensboro, N.C.

Pac-12 inducts into Ring of Honor

Shareef Abdur-Rahim, Nate Robinson and Keith Van Horn highlight a group of former players and coaches that will be inducted into the Pac-12 Men's Basketball Hall of Honor. Joining Abdur-Rahim (Cal), Van Horn (Utah) and Robinson (Washington) are Jason Gardner (Arizona), Dennis Hamilton (Arizona State), Cliff Meely (Colorado), Chuck Rask (Oregon), Charlie Sitton (Oregon State) Ron Tomsic (Stanford) Lucius Allen (UCLA), Forrest Twogood (USC) and James McKean (Washington State).The group will be introduced before the start of the championship game at the MGM Grand Garden Arena in Las Vegas, Nev., Saturday, March 16.

On the web

For more college football news, head over to our blog at or you can like us at 365 and add me on Google +. Follow us on Twitter at @osmattmurschel and @gridiron365.

Featured Stories

CTnow is using Facebook comments on stories. To comment on articles, sign into Facebook and enter your comment in the field below. Comments will appear in your Facebook News Feed unless you choose otherwise. To report spam or abuse, click the X next to the comment. For guidelines on commenting, click here.