Hope's Matt Neil Named NCAA Division 3 Coach of the Year

Matt Neil is considered one of the best in the business.  Today, he was singled out as the best in Division III.

Hope men's basketball head coach Matt Neil was named the NCAA Division III Coach of the Year and was presented the Glenn Robinsonaward in New Orleans, site of the men's Division 1 Final Four, by the website collegeinsider.com.

Neil had led the Flying Dutchmen the last two seasons, winning back-to-back MIAA conference titles and making two appearances in the NCAA tournament. Neil is 50-9 in his two seasons in Holland, Michigan including a 27-2 mark last season.

The award is named after former Franklin & Marshall coach Glenn Robinson.  Robinson has won over 800 games and is currently 12th on the all-time collegiate wins list. Other nominees for the award were Larry Anderson, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Jeff Brown, MiddleburyCollege; Ken DeWeese, University of Mary Hardin Baylor; David Hixon, Amherst College; Marcus Kahn, Cabrini College; Brian Lane, Transylvania University; Pat Miller, University of Wisconsin-Whitewater; Mitch Oliver, Albertus Magnus College; and Ken Scalmanini, Claremont Mudd Scripps.