HOME PLATE

<b>All-Star considerations:</b> Obviously, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000010090" title="Jason Hammel" href="/topic/sports/baseball/jason-hammel-PESPT000010090.topic">Jason Hammel</a>, pictured, picked a really bad time to have his worst outing of the season, and it likely will cost him a place on the American League All-Star team. He still is one of the top pitchers in the league and his overall numbers are right there with some of the other candidates, but he’s on the bubble with <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000029" title="Texas Rangers" href="/topic/sports/baseball/texas-rangers-ORSPT000029.topic">Rangers</a> 10-game winners <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000010099" title="Matt Harrison" href="/topic/sports/baseball/matt-harrison-PESPT000010099.topic">Matt Harrison</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0015190" title="Yu Darvish" href="/topic/sports/baseball/yu-darvish-PESPT0015190.topic">Yu Darvish</a> and guess which team’s manager is running this show. The <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000160" title="Baltimore Orioles" href="/topic/sports/baseball/baltimore-orioles-ORSPT000160.topic">Orioles</a> have several legitimate candidates, but if I had to guess, I’d say that <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000010156" title="Jim Johnson" href="/topic/sports/baseball/jim-johnson-PESPT000010156.topic">Jim Johnson</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT000008615" title="Adam Jones (baseball)" href="/topic/sports/baseball/adam-jones-%28baseball%29-PESPT000008615.topic">Adam Jones</a> will represent the O’s in Kansas City.

( Reuters photo / June 28, 2012 )

All-Star considerations: Obviously, Jason Hammel, pictured, picked a really bad time to have his worst outing of the season, and it likely will cost him a place on the American League All-Star team. He still is one of the top pitchers in the league and his overall numbers are right there with some of the other candidates, but he’s on the bubble with Rangers 10-game winners Matt Harrison and Yu Darvish and guess which team’s manager is running this show. The Orioles have several legitimate candidates, but if I had to guess, I’d say that Jim Johnson and Adam Jones will represent the O’s in Kansas City.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
CTnow is using Facebook comments on stories. To comment on ctnow.com articles, sign into Facebook and enter your comment in the field below. Comments will appear in your Facebook News Feed unless you choose otherwise. To report spam or abuse, click the X next to the comment. For guidelines on commenting, click here.