When the Dolphins pass: Edge--Bengals

<p>You're probably sick of hearing this (so are the Dolphins) but pass protection is the key. QB <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0014998" title="Ryan Tannehill" href="/topic/sports/football/ryan-tannehill-PESPT0014998.topic">Ryan Tannehill</a> has been sacked a NFL-worst 32 times, and he has 14 TOs (9 INTs, 5 lost fumbles) vs. 11 TDs. That's upside down. And now, with Jonathan Martin and Dion Sims out, the blocking is as compromised as it has been all season. Losing WR <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0013611" title="Brandon Gibson" href="/topic/sports/football/brandon-gibson-PESPT0013611.topic">Brandon Gibson</a> (knee) is a crushing blow. Bengals DE <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012383" title="Carlos Dunlap" href="/topic/sports/football/carlos-dunlap-PESPT0012383.topic">Carlos Dunlap</a> (4 sacks) and Atkins (5 sacks) are tough, but CBs <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012507" title="Leon Hall" href="/topic/sports/football/leon-hall-PESPT0012507.topic">Leon Hall</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0014023" title="Terence Newman" href="/topic/sports/football/terence-newman-PESPT0014023.topic">Terence Newman</a> are a good combination. They'll pose major problems. And CB <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0012620" title="Adam Jones (football)" href="/topic/sports/football/adam-jones-%28football%29-PESPT0012620.topic">Adam Jones</a> (2 INTs) can do damage, too. Look for TE <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT0011976" title="Charles Clay " href="/topic/sports/football/charles-clay--PESPT0011976.topic">Charles Clay</a> to be utilized because he's a matchup advantage. Unless, of course, Tannehill can't get him the ball because of faulty pass protection, which will probably be the case.</p>
<p><strong>Edge:</strong> Bengals</p>

( October 30, 2013 )

You're probably sick of hearing this (so are the Dolphins) but pass protection is the key. QB Ryan Tannehill has been sacked a NFL-worst 32 times, and he has 14 TOs (9 INTs, 5 lost fumbles) vs. 11 TDs. That's upside down. And now, with Jonathan Martin and Dion Sims out, the blocking is as compromised as it has been all season. Losing WR Brandon Gibson (knee) is a crushing blow. Bengals DE Carlos Dunlap (4 sacks) and Atkins (5 sacks) are tough, but CBs Leon Hall and Terence Newman are a good combination. They'll pose major problems. And CB Adam Jones (2 INTs) can do damage, too. Look for TE Charles Clay to be utilized because he's a matchup advantage. Unless, of course, Tannehill can't get him the ball because of faulty pass protection, which will probably be the case.

Edge: Bengals

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook

PLAN AHEAD

Top Trending Videos