Actress Joy Page, Bogart told her to 'Go back to Bulgaria' in Casablanca, April 26

<B>Actress Joy Page, Bogart told her to 'Go back to Bulgaria' in <i>Casablanca</i>, April 26</B><BR> Joy Page, the stepdaughter of Warner Bros. studio chief Jack L. Warner who earned her place in film history playing the dark-haired young Bulgarian newlywed in <i>Casablanca</i>, died on Friday, April 26, 2008, at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles. She was 83. She was a 17-year-old <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100100102380800" title="Beverly Hills" href="/topic/us/california/los-angeles-county/los-angeles/beverly-hills-PLGEO100100102380800.topic">Beverly Hills</a> High School senior when she landed the role of Annina Brandel in <i>Casablanca</i>, the classic 1942 film starring <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB000565" title="Humphrey Bogart" href="/topic/entertainment/humphrey-bogart-PECLB000565.topic">Humphrey Bogart</a>, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB000475" title="Ingrid Bergman" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/ingrid-bergman-PECLB000475.topic">Ingrid Bergman</a> and Paul Henreid. As the newlywed refugee in need of exit visas so she and her husband can get out of Casablanca and go to America, the character is faced with the moral dilemma of giving herself to Capt. Renault (<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB003480" title="Claude Rains" href="/topic/entertainment/claude-rains-PECLB003480.topic">Claude Rains</a>) in exchange for the documents. But Bogart, as the worldly proprietor of Rick's Cafe Americain, intervenes by letting her husband win at roulette so he can buy the visas. It was Page's first film role. She went on to play <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB001088" title="Ronald Colman" href="/topic/entertainment/ronald-colman-PECLB001088.topic">Ronald Colman</a>'s daughter in director William Dieterle's <i>Kismet</i>, a lavish 1944 MGM adventure-fantasy co-starring <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB001408" title="Marlene Dietrich" href="/topic/entertainment/marlene-dietrich-PECLB001408.topic">Marlene Dietrich</a>. Among Page's other films were <i>Man-Eater of Kumaon</i> with Indian actor Sabu (1948), <i>Bullfighter and the Lady</i> with Robert Stack (1951) and <i>The Shrike</i> (1955) with <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB001667" title="Jose Ferrer" href="/topic/entertainment/jose-ferrer-PECLB001667.topic">Jose Ferrer</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB000099" title="June Allyson" href="/topic/entertainment/june-allyson-PECLB000099.topic">June Allyson</a>. Page also worked in television, including on <i>Schlitz Playhouse of Stars, Studio 57, Cheyenne, Wagon Train</i> and <i>The Swamp Fox</i> before retiring from acting in 1962.

( April 27, 2008 )

Actress Joy Page, Bogart told her to 'Go back to Bulgaria' in Casablanca, April 26
Joy Page, the stepdaughter of Warner Bros. studio chief Jack L. Warner who earned her place in film history playing the dark-haired young Bulgarian newlywed in Casablanca, died on Friday, April 26, 2008, at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center in Los Angeles. She was 83. She was a 17-year-old Beverly Hills High School senior when she landed the role of Annina Brandel in Casablanca, the classic 1942 film starring Humphrey Bogart, Ingrid Bergman and Paul Henreid. As the newlywed refugee in need of exit visas so she and her husband can get out of Casablanca and go to America, the character is faced with the moral dilemma of giving herself to Capt. Renault (Claude Rains) in exchange for the documents. But Bogart, as the worldly proprietor of Rick's Cafe Americain, intervenes by letting her husband win at roulette so he can buy the visas. It was Page's first film role. She went on to play Ronald Colman's daughter in director William Dieterle's Kismet, a lavish 1944 MGM adventure-fantasy co-starring Marlene Dietrich. Among Page's other films were Man-Eater of Kumaon with Indian actor Sabu (1948), Bullfighter and the Lady with Robert Stack (1951) and The Shrike (1955) with Jose Ferrer and June Allyson. Page also worked in television, including on Schlitz Playhouse of Stars, Studio 57, Cheyenne, Wagon Train and The Swamp Fox before retiring from acting in 1962.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook

PLAN AHEAD

Top Trending Videos