24 Al Cesky Scholarship Fund nominees ready for banquet

Twenty-four graduating high school student-athletes, representing Harford County's 12 senior classes, will be honored at the 28th Annual Al Cesky Scholarship Fund's (ACSF) awards banquet Wednesday at the Richlin Ballroom, beginning at 6 p.m.

Tickets are $40 each, with a student price of $35. Call 410-838-6787 or visit for more information.

Two of the scholarship winners, one male and one female, will receive scholarship awards amounting to $5,000 each from the ACSF to help defray the cost of their post-secondary education. The remaining 22 winners will each receive $2,000 scholarships for a combined total of $54,000. Nominations are mainly based on the graduating high school student's academic and athletic achievement along with demonstrated leadership, community service experience and financial need.

Tom Matte, former Baltimore Colts running back, will be the guest speaker at the banquet, where former sportscaster Jack Dawson will be the master of ceremonies.

Of the 12 young men and twelve young women being honored, all intend to further their education. Thirteen are three-sport athletes and 20 served as team captains at the varsity level. Eleven earned All-County honors, six earned All-Conference recognition and three were recognized with All-Metro or All-State accolades.

Academically, 20 nominees are distinguished honor roll students and 20 belong to the National Honor Society. Nine have earned recognition as Advanced Placement Scholars and two are National Merit Scholars.

Six students are members of the school band, orchestra or choir and two have been involved in drama or musical productions. One student serves on the staff of the school newspaper, six are active in student government affairs and three hold class offices.

All of the winners are service volunteers in their schools, churches or community. Besides their academic studies and extracurricular activities, almost all work part-time, including jobs as referees, youth coaches, camp counselors, lifeguards, babysitters, food service workers, cashiers and retail staff.

Selection committees within the individual schools nominated these 24 scholarship recipients. The ACSF selection committee then anonymously reviews the applications submitted, using the same criteria, to select the two $5,000 winners.

Copyright © 2018, CT Now