Views On Death Penalty From Pages Of The Courant

Why Joshua Komisarjevsky Must Die

October 25, 2011

OTHER OPINION: Why Joshua Komisarjevsky Must Die

Earlier this year, the people's elected representatives almost abolished Connecticut's death penalty by stealth. Steven Hayes and Joshua Komisarjevsky would never have been executed. At the last minute, a couple of legislators flipped, imagining themselves as victims, knowing that these rapist-murderers deserved to die.

October 23, 2011

COMMENTARY: Capital Punishment No Solace To Survivors

I know of no one in our state who has followed the horrible story of the home invasion in Cheshire, where a mother and two daughters were cold-bloodedly murdered, who wouldn't want to yell, "Kill the killers!"

October 23, 2011

COMMENTARY: Care More About Victims Than Killers

On May 24, 1994, my wife Wanda and I became homicide survivors. Our beautiful 19-year-old daughter, Melanie, was brutally strangled to death in our house by her ex-boyfriend.

1:47 PM EDT, October 17, 2011

OTHER OPINION: Executing Murderers Saves Lives

Now that Joshua Komisarjevsky is declared guilty of murdering Dr. William Petit Jr.'s wife and two daughters in a Cheshire home invasion, it's easy to understand why most Americans hope he is put to death for his sadistic crime.

Death penalty for Joshua Komisarjevsky?

11:17 PM EDT, September 22, 2011

Today's Buzz

FRIDAY BUZZ
Death penalty for Joshua Komisarjevsky?

Joshua Komisarjevsky has been convicted of murder and now faces the sentencing phase of his trial. He could get life in prison or the death penalty. Does he deserve death for his role in the murderers of Jennifer Hawke-Petit and her daughters, Hayley and Michaela? Or is the death penalty wrong? What's your view? Talk about it!

May 31, 2009

DR. WILLIAM A. PETIT JR.
Death Penalty Is Justice For Murderers

"Justice is the first virtue of social institutions," according to philosopher John Rawls. It transcends national borders, races and cultures. The death penalty is the appropriate societal response to the brutal and willful act of capital felony murder.

September 28, 2011

OTHER OPINION
Two Wrongs: Death Penalty Is Revenge, Not Justice

The execution of Troy Davis in Georgia last week has once again pushed the debate over capital punishment to the forefront. Although there are many questions regarding this particular case, Mr. Davis is dead, and any discussion is purely academic.

October 17, 2010

OTHER OPINION
Jurors Must Follow Strict Death Penalty Guidelines

Now that Steven Hayes was convicted of capital murder for killing Jennifer Hawke-Petit and her daughters, Hayley, 17, and Michaela, 11, in their Cheshire home, the jury, beginning Monday, must decide whether he should be sentenced to death.

May 13, 2011

OUR VIEW
Prague Wrong To Propose Frontier 'Justice'

Shame on state Sen. Edith Prague of Columbia for her ghoulish, disgusting suggestion about how to punish Joshua Komisarjevsky, the second man accused of murder in the 2007 Cheshire home invasion case that took the lives of three members of Dr. William Petit's family.

November 11, 2010

Frank Harris III: The Sooner Hayes Is Executed, The Better

The killer shall be killed — so said the jury in the Cheshire home invasion murder case.

November 9, 2010

OUR VIEW
Death Penalty For Steven Hayes Is Pointless

Convicted triple murderer Steven Hayes becomes the 10th inmate on Connecticut's death row with a jury's decision that he be executed. Now an interminable period of reviews and appeals begins.

May 15, 2011

OTHER OPINION
Execution Won't Ease Pain. I Know

This past week, the repeal of the death penalty was jettisoned by the misguided but sincere hope of a few lawmakers that they could ease the pain of Dr. William Petit, whose wife and daughters were slain in a home invasion.

April 23, 2011

OTHER OPINION
Changing Use Of Death Penalty Argues For Abolition

In 1786, citizens gathered in New London to watch the public hanging for homicide of Hannah Occuish, a 12-year-old girl of mixed race. She might have been the youngest person in the United States ever to meet such a fate.

February 22, 2011

OUR VIEW
Victims' Families Support Repeal Of Death Penalty

For opponents of the death penalty, the timing probably couldn't be worse.

October 17, 2010

OTHER OPINION
Execution Decision Is No Place For Passion

The gubernatorial race in Connecticut, already charged with political passion, has now received a second emotionally powerful jolt: the debate over what punishment to inflict on Steven Hayes, the man who has been convicted in the rape and murder of the wife and daughters of a prominent Connecticut physician. Public sentiment for harsh justice is running high and has dragged Democratic candidate Dan Malloy and Republican candidate Tom Foley into the discussion of the death penalty.

September 25, 2011

Susan Campbell: Execution Is A Terrible Legacy For The Victims

On Aug. 25, 1994, Robert Hardcastle was beaten and stabbed in a ditch in Miami, Okla. He survived long enough to crawl to the road, and tell the police officer who'd arrived at the scene — Miami being a small town, and the police officer being a childhood friend — the name of his assailant. He asked for water. And then he died.

September 20, 2011

OTHER OPINION
Komisarjevsky Deserves Vigorous Defense

Over the years, I've run across a fair bit of prejudice against lawyers. I'll not suggest that lawyers don't earn a certain amount of disdain, but when a white, tobacco-chewing, sheriff implied that if I came through his county after dark I'd never leave it, I felt that was a little excessive. My crime was to be representing a black man from New York who I thought was probably innocent of killing a white policeman in Mississippi. As if that were not enough, I had suggested that the sheriff, "Goon" Jones to his friends, might be an itty-bitsy mite racist because he called black people "colored boys" and had poured moonshine over the head of a civil rights worker before shaving his hair off.

February 2, 2011

OTHER OPINION
Death Penalty: Costly And No Deterrent

If anyone has a good reason to support maintaining the death penalty in Connecticut, it should be me.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook
Advertisement

...