Directors elect Dennison as president and Wieder as vice president of Virginia  Associated Press Broadcast organization

The Virginia Associated Press Broadcasters Board of Directors has elected Dan Dennison as president of the state broadcast organization.

Dennison, news director of WDBJ-TV in Roanoke, will also serve as the group's Southwest representative.

Doug Wieder, executive news director of WVEC-TV in Norfolk, was elected to serve as vice president and representative of the Tidewater-Northern Neck region.

The VAPB is composed of broadcast stations that are members of The Associated Press. Its purpose is to advance the craft of journalism, foster competition to improve Virginia broadcast journalism and examine the broadcast news wires of The Associated Press.

At the group's annual meeting Saturday in Charlottesville, the following at-large directors were re-elected to a two-year term on the board:
   --Deirdre Blake of WFLS-FM, Fredericksburg
   --David Foky of WVIR-TV, Charlottesville
   --Bill Oglesby of Virginia Commonwealth University, Richmond, as faculty and at-large member.

Other members of the board of directors include Lisa Melton, past president and news director of WRIC-TV, Richmond, and Karl Magenhofer, news director of WSVA-AM, Harrisonburg.