KSPR wins regional Edward R. Murrow award for Leap Day Tornado newscast

SPRINGFIELD, Mo. - KSPR News has been honored with a 2013 Regional Edward R. Murrow award for its February 29, 2012 newscast on the Leap Day Tornadoes.

KSPR was awarded Best Newscast in the small-market division in Region 5, which encompasses Iowa, Kansas, Missouri and Nebraska. The newscast covered the immediate aftermath of the Leap Day tornadoes that struck Branson and an area of Dallas County in the overnight hours of Feb. 28-29, 2012.

The award is given annually by the Radio Television Digital News Association, and has since 1971. According to the RTNDA's website, those who receive the award "demonstrate the spirit of excellence [Edward R.] Murrow set as a standard for the profession of electronic journalism."

You can watch the entry in its entirety below, and view a list of all the winners across America here.