KSPR News earns Kansas City Press Club's "TV Station of the Year" Award

KANSAS CITY, Mo. -- The Kansas City Press Club honored KSPR News as its "Station of the Year" for 2013.

The Kansas City Press Club honored television stations and newspapers throughout Missouri and Kansas at a banquet Saturday.  KSPR News won 24 total awards, including best newscast for its coverage of the 2012 Branson tornado.


   Gold - KSPR News at 6 - Leap Day Tornadoes
   Bronze - KSPR News at 6 - Winter Storm
Best deadline/spot news/breaking news:  
   Gold - Jonah Kaplan and  Brandon Foster - Branson Tornado
   Silver - Jonah Kaplan and Tony Nguyen - School Bus Terror
   Bronze - Jonah Kaplan and Brandon Foster - House Fire
Business reporting:
   Silver - Joanna Small - Tattoo Removal
Feature reporting:
   Silver - Joanna Small - While They Were Away
   Gold - Kevin Lighty - Tornado Survivor
   Bronze - Lauren Matter and Ben Knaup - Lage Grisby (Tornado Child)
Sports reporting:
   Silver - Mike Scott and Brandon Foster - Haven's Hope
Photojournalism/Breaking news: