Emmitt Smith among 12 Cowboys honored by Hall of Fame
The day before Super Bowl XLIV in Miami, Emmitt Smith should become the next Dallas Cowboy to join the NFL Hall of Fame. In his first year of eligibility, Emmitt was one of 131 players, coaches and contributors named to the preliminary list of nominees for induction in 2010.

Also highlighting the list are Jerry Rice, Tim Brown, Cris Carter, Andre Reed and Sterling Sharp. Former NFL commissioner Paul Tagliabue is also on the list.

There are 12 men who have ties to the Dallas Cowboys who are also included in the preliminary nominees. They are Administrator Gil Brandt (1960-1988), DT/DE Ray Childress (1996), QB Randall Cunningham (2000), RB Eddie George (2004), DE/LB Charles Haley (1992-1996), Coach Jimmy Johnson (1898-1993), DE Ed " Too Tall " Jones (1974-1978, 1980-1989), Administrator Frank "Bucco" Kilroy (1965-1970) RB Emmitt Smith (1990-2002), RB Herschel Walker (1996-1997), QB/P Danny White (1976-1988). S Darren Woodson (1992-2003)

Hall of Fame selectors will chose 25 semi-finalists by November 27 and 15 finalists by January 7 before the final vote on February 6th.

Make sure to join us for this story as well as a preview of the Grand Opening to the new Cowboys Stadium and a preview of Sunday's game against the Giants, tonight on The 33 News at 5:30pm and 9:00pm