The Travel Show is NEXT WEEK! Incredible giveaways, show only deals, kid’s activities, food and beverage sampling, and so much more!

All-Courant Boys Cross Country

All-Courant Team

Trey Cormier, Hall, Jr.

Robbie Cozean, Xavier, So.

Owen Curran, Xavier, Sr.

William Curran, Xavier, Jr.

Shane Henderson, Old Saybrook, Jr.

Killian McNamee, Tolland, So.

Andrew Meredith, Haddam-Killingworth, Sr.

Brendan Murray, Cheshire, Sr.

Taylor Ney, Coventry, So.

Heath Olivieri, East Catholic, Jr.

Joe Pearl, Manchester, Sr.

Peter Schulten, Xavier, Jr.

Dillon Selfors, Xavier, Jr.

Jacob Smith, Glastonbury So.

Maximillian Sparks, Canton, Sr.

Jonah Spector, Haddam-Killingworth, Sr.

Honorable Mention

Miller Anderson, Hall, Jr.; Yankarlos Diaz, Manchester, Jr.; Kyle Englander, Suffield, Jr.; Owen Lally Xavier, Sr.; Richard Landis, Hall, Sr.; Matthew Lecky, Middletown, Jr.; Conner Leone, Southington, Sr.; Alex Sauter, Tolland, So.; Jared Sharp, Suffield, So.; Tyler Remigino, Conard, Fr.; Daniel Schumann, Haddam-Killingworth, Sr.


Xavier won the State Open title in dramatic fashion, breaking a 61-61 tie with Staples with sixth runner, Owen Lally, a week after a second-place finish at the Class LL championship. Xavier went on to win the New England title and the Nike Cross Northeast regional championship, which got the Falcons a trip to the Nike national meet, where they finished 18th.

Cheshire senior Brendan Murray finished second to Fairfield Prep’s Drew Thompson in the SCC championship meet. He finished second to Thompson at the Class LL meet and then again at the State Open. Murray tried different strategies but none worked against Thompson, who went on to win the New England title and finish eighth at the Foot Locker National Championships in San Diego. The two will face each other in indoor and outdoor track.

Led by sophomores Killian McNamee and Alex Sauter, Tolland won its second straight Class M title. McNamee won the race and Sauter finished third. The top five runners – who all finished in the top 15 in the race — are underclassmen and will return next year.

Canton senior Maximillian Sparks won the NCCC title and the Class SS championship after finishing second last year at the state meet. Sparks finished seventh in the State Open.

Haddam-Killingworth won its fourth straight state title, capturing the Class SS championship. H-K senior Andrew Meredith, who finished second and was part of all four titles, said, “As freshmen, we all just saw the success and that spurred us on. Now it’s the tradition.”

State Champions

State Open: Team, Xavier; individual, Drew Thompson, Fairfield Prep

Class LL: Staples; Thompson

Class L: Pomperaug; Eli Nahom, New Milford

Class MM: East Lyme; Anthony Golino, New Fairfield

Class M: Tolland; Killian McNamee, Tolland

Class SS: Haddam-Killigworth; Maximillian Sparks, Canton

Class S: Lyman Memorial; Ken Little, Derby

Copyright © 2018, CT Now