The Travel Show is NEXT WEEK! Incredible giveaways, show only deals, kid’s activities, food and beverage sampling, and so much more!

New West Hartford Town Council, School Board Sworn In

New and returning members of the town council and school board were sworn into office during a ceremony at town hall last week. Outgoing members of the town council and school board were recognized for their service.

Shari Cantor, who garnered the most votes during the municipal election — 9,005 votes — was named mayor. Beth Kerrigan was named deputy mayor, she followed Cantor with 8,030 votes.

Incumbent Democrats Ben Weongrad, Dallas Dodge and Leon Davidoff, as well as newcomer Democrat Liam Sweeney were sworn in. Incumbent Republicans Chris Barnes and Chris Williams, as well as newcomer Mary Fay were sworn in as well.

Republican Minority Leader Denise Hall and Democrat Judy Casperson were recognized for their service on the town council.

For the school board, Democrat Cheryl Greenberg and Carol A. Blanks were named board chair and vice chair, respectively. Greenberg received the most votes — 8,489. Blanks was not up for re-election in November. Newcomer Democrats Deb Polun and Lorna Thomas-Farquharson as well as Republican newcomer Robert Levine were sworn in as well. Levine took Jay Sarzen’s seat on the school board having received 4,739 votes to Sarzen’s 4,423.

Of the 38,855 registered voters, roughly 32 percent or 12,584 people cast votes during this year’s municipal election.

Copyright © 2018, CT Now