Anne Hathaway in 'The Princess Diaries'

<b> <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB005266" title="Anne Hathaway" href="/topic/entertainment/anne-hathaway-PECLB005266.topic">Anne Hathaway</a></b><br>
<br>
<b>Born:</b> Anne Jacqueline Hathaway, Nov. 12, 1982<br>
<br>
<b>Hometown:</b> <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100100802010000" title="Brooklyn (New York City)" href="/topic/us/new-york/new-york-city/brooklyn-%28new-york-city%29-PLGEO100100802010000.topic">Brooklyn</a>, N.Y.<br>
<br>
<b>Beginnings:</b> Hathaway was named by her parents -- father, a lawyer, and mom, an actress -- after the wife of <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PEHST001827" title="William Shakespeare" href="/topic/arts-culture/literature/william-shakespeare-PEHST001827.topic">William Shakespeare</a>. She performed in community theater plays throughout high school and later studied at Vassar and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" OREDU0000130" title="New York University" href="/topic/education/colleges-universities/new-york-university-OREDU0000130.topic">New York University</a>. After singing with her high school chorus at <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PLCUL000130" title="Carnegie Hall" href="/topic/entertainment/carnegie-hall-PLCUL000130.topic">Carnegie Hall</a> in 1999, she was immediately cast in the short-lived Fox series "Get Real." She has since starred in the family films "The Other Side of Heaven," "Ella Enchanted," "Nicholas Nickelby" and "The Princess Diaries." A string of well-received performances in "Brokeback Mountain," "The Devil Wears Prada," "Becoming Jane" and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" ENMV000042" title="Get Smart (movie)" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/get-smart-%28movie%29-ENMV000042.topic">"Get Smart"</a> earned her the notice of Oscar-winning director <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" PECLB001366" title="Jonathan Demme" href="/topic/entertainment/jonathan-demme-PECLB001366.topic">Jonathan Demme</a>, who cast her in 2008's acclaimed drama " <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" ENMV000178" title="Rachel Getting Married (movie)" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/rachel-getting-married-%28movie%29-ENMV000178.topic">Rachel Getting Married</a>."<br>
<br>
<b>Winner:</b> Hathaway, whose star seems to be rising faster than her <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id=" ENMV000022" title="Bride Wars (movie)" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/bride-wars-%28movie%29-ENMV000022.topic">"Bride Wars"</a> co-star

( Ron Batzdorff / Disney / April 29, 2013 )

Anne Hathaway

Born: Anne Jacqueline Hathaway, Nov. 12, 1982

Hometown: Brooklyn, N.Y.

Beginnings: Hathaway was named by her parents -- father, a lawyer, and mom, an actress -- after the wife of William Shakespeare. She performed in community theater plays throughout high school and later studied at Vassar and New York University. After singing with her high school chorus at Carnegie Hall in 1999, she was immediately cast in the short-lived Fox series "Get Real." She has since starred in the family films "The Other Side of Heaven," "Ella Enchanted," "Nicholas Nickelby" and "The Princess Diaries." A string of well-received performances in "Brokeback Mountain," "The Devil Wears Prada," "Becoming Jane" and "Get Smart" earned her the notice of Oscar-winning director Jonathan Demme, who cast her in 2008's acclaimed drama " Rachel Getting Married."

Winner: Hathaway, whose star seems to be rising faster than her "Bride Wars" co-star

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook

PLAN AHEAD

Top Trending Videos