James Franco

<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001786" title="James Franco" href="/topic/entertainment/james-franco-PECLB001786.topic">James Franco</a>, 33, who hosted this year's <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="EVHST000005" title="Academy Awards" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/academy-awards-EVHST000005.topic">Oscars</a> and was nominated for lead actor for <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ENMV0010958" title="127 Hours (movie)" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/127-hours-%28movie%29-ENMV0010958.topic">"127 Hours,"</a> has been perhaps the most active actor-scholar of late: He is enrolled in <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="OREDU0000166" title="Yale University" href="/topic/education/colleges-universities/yale-university-OREDU0000166.topic">Yale University</a>'s English PhD program and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100100900000000" title="North Carolina" href="/topic/us/north-carolina-PLGEO100100900000000.topic">North Carolina</a>'s Warren Wilson College for poetry. In May, he earned a master's degree from <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="OREDU0000130" title="New York University" href="/topic/education/colleges-universities/new-york-university-OREDU0000130.topic">New York University</a>'s Tisch School of the Arts and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="OREDU000097" title="Columbia University" href="/topic/education/colleges-universities/columbia-university-OREDU000097.topic">Columbia University</a>'s MFA writing program, after already graduating from <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100100802010000" title="Brooklyn (New York City)" href="/topic/us/new-york/new-york-city/brooklyn-%28new-york-city%29-PLGEO100100802010000.topic">Brooklyn</a> College for fiction writing last year.

( Jay L. Clendenin / Los Angeles Times )

James Franco, 33, who hosted this year's Oscars and was nominated for lead actor for "127 Hours," has been perhaps the most active actor-scholar of late: He is enrolled in Yale University's English PhD program and North Carolina's Warren Wilson College for poetry. In May, he earned a master's degree from New York University's Tisch School of the Arts and Columbia University's MFA writing program, after already graduating from Brooklyn College for fiction writing last year.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook

PLAN AHEAD

Top Trending Videos