July 31- Ramirez said to be on 2003 doping list

<a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT006038" title="Manny Ramirez" href="/topic/sports/baseball/manny-ramirez-PESPT006038.topic">Manny Ramirez</a> reported to be on a list of players who tested positive for banned substances in 2003.
Almost a month into his return, Ramirez’s name was once again linked do drugs. The cause this time was a story in <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORCRP010822" title="The New York Times" href="/topic/arts-culture/mass-media/news-media/the-new-york-times-ORCRP010822.topic">the New York Times</a>, which reported that Ramirez was among the 104 players who tested positive for performance-enhancing drugs in baseball’s survey testing. The report led to more questions but didn’t produce any more answers, as Ramirez remained adamant in his refusal to talk about drugs. <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000005" title="Boston Red Sox" href="/topic/sports/baseball/boston-red-sox-ORSPT000005.topic">Boston Red Sox</a>'s <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PESPT008354" title="David Ortiz" href="/topic/sports/baseball/david-ortiz-PESPT008354.topic">David Ortiz</a>, left, sits with then teammate Ramirez in the dugout during their game against the <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="ORSPT000017" title="Minnesota Twins" href="/topic/sports/baseball/minnesota-twins-ORSPT000017.topic">Minnesota Twins</a> at <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLREC000025" title="Fenway Park" href="/topic/sports/baseball/fenway-park-PLREC000025.topic">Fenway Park</a> in Boston. Ortiz and Ramirez were among the more than 100 Major League Baseball players who tested positive for performance-enhancing drugs in 2003, according to a July 30 report in the New York Times.

( Winslow Townson / Associated Press )

Manny Ramirez reported to be on a list of players who tested positive for banned substances in 2003. Almost a month into his return, Ramirez’s name was once again linked do drugs. The cause this time was a story in the New York Times, which reported that Ramirez was among the 104 players who tested positive for performance-enhancing drugs in baseball’s survey testing. The report led to more questions but didn’t produce any more answers, as Ramirez remained adamant in his refusal to talk about drugs. Boston Red Sox's David Ortiz, left, sits with then teammate Ramirez in the dugout during their game against the Minnesota Twins at Fenway Park in Boston. Ortiz and Ramirez were among the more than 100 Major League Baseball players who tested positive for performance-enhancing drugs in 2003, according to a July 30 report in the New York Times.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook

PLAN AHEAD

Top Trending Videos