'The Normal Heart'

<b>Milestone:</b> First large-scale play about <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="HEDAI000003" title="HIV - AIDS" href="/topic/health/diseases-illnesses/hiv---aids-HEDAI000003.topic">AIDS</a><br>
<br>
Larry Kramer's semi-autobiographical play "The Normal Heart" made waves in the theater world back in 1985. One of the first stage productions to deal with the AIDS crisis, "Normal Heart" opened at the Public Theater in <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100100800000000" title="New York" href="/topic/us/new-york-PLGEO100100800000000.topic">New York</a> and ran for 294 performances. The show, about Ned Weeks, the gay founder of a gay advocacy group, continued in <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PLGEO100100102380000" title="Los Angeles" href="/topic/us/california/los-angeles-county/los-angeles-PLGEO100100102380000.topic">Los Angeles</a> and London with stars such as <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB003680" title="Martin Sheen" href="/topic/entertainment/martin-sheen-PECLB003680.topic">Martin Sheen</a> and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB001467" title="Richard Dreyfuss" href="/topic/entertainment/richard-dreyfuss-PECLB001467.topic">Richard Dreyfuss</a> taking the role of Ned. A recent New York reading of the play by Joe Mantello, <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB004166" title="Glenn Close" href="/topic/entertainment/movies/glenn-close-PECLB004166.topic">Glenn Close</a>, Michael Stuhlbarg  and others raised $150,000 for charity and <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB0000007954" title="Mark Ruffalo" href="/topic/entertainment/mark-ruffalo-PECLB0000007954.topic">Mark Ruffalo</a> and director <a class="taxInlineTagLink" id="PECLB0000008466" title="Ryan Murphy" href="/topic/entertainment/ryan-murphy-PECLB0000008466.topic">Ryan Murphy</a> are both attached to a screen adaptation.

( AP )

Milestone: First large-scale play about AIDS

Larry Kramer's semi-autobiographical play "The Normal Heart" made waves in the theater world back in 1985. One of the first stage productions to deal with the AIDS crisis, "Normal Heart" opened at the Public Theater in New York and ran for 294 performances. The show, about Ned Weeks, the gay founder of a gay advocacy group, continued in Los Angeles and London with stars such as Martin Sheen and Richard Dreyfuss taking the role of Ned. A recent New York reading of the play by Joe Mantello, Glenn Close, Michael Stuhlbarg and others raised $150,000 for charity and Mark Ruffalo and director Ryan Murphy are both attached to a screen adaptation.

  • Email E-mail
  • add to Twitter Twitter
  • add to Facebook Facebook

PLAN AHEAD

Top Trending Videos