Connecticut High School Musical Theater Award Nominations Announced

Hartford Courant

 The Fourth Annual Connecticut High School Musical Theater Awards ceremony will be held June 4 starting at 6 p.m. at the Palace Theatre in Waterbury.

Performances from the nominates shows will be presented at the ceremony.

A total of 19 high schools from across the state participated:  East Lyme High School (Legally Blonde; New Canaan High School (, Sweet Charity; Newton High School, Sweeney Todd (School Edition),; Granby Memorial High School, No, No, NanetteNew Britain High School, Hairspray; Jonathan Law High School (Milford), Hairspray; St. Paul Catholic High School (Bristol)Legally Blonde; Trinity Catholic High School, (Stamford) Beauty & The Beast; Trumbull High School, The Wiz; Valley Regional High School, (Deep River) Titanic, the musical; Westhill High School, (Stamford) The Drowsy Chaperone; Stratford High School My Favorite Year; Waterbury Arts Magnet High School, Esperanze Rising / Singing In The Rain; Guilford High School, Evita; Plainfield High School, Annie; Regional Center For The Arts, (Trumbull) Ragtime; Fairfield Prep, Kiss Me KateImmaculate High School, (Danbury) Miss SaigonAmity High School, (Woodbridge) Legally Blonde.

The two winners in the leading actor and actress will then move on to the national competition in New York next month where students sponsored by 30 professional theater organizations will compete for scholarships.

  Activities will commence on June 20, with rehearsals, master classes, private coaching and interviews with theater professionals. The highlight will be the awards show awards show June 25 at Broadway's Minskoff Theatre.

“In our first year and the first year for Nationals, our [state winner] for outstanding actor won [the nationals,"  says Norwich's Spirit of Broadway Theater founding artistic director/ CEO Brett A. Bernardini. Stephen Marks of Ridgefield High School won Nationals in 2009 while our actress, Grace Hardin, - also of Ridgefield High School – finished in the Top Four.  In 2010, our outstanding actor and actress finished in the Top Four." The Spirit of Broadway founded and sponsors the statewide competition.

Public tickets to the awards ceremony in Waterbury are $25. Information: 860.886.2378 or at the Palace on the day of the event.  Also: or

The nominees for outstand production: Newtown High School ("Sweeney Todd"), St. Paul Catholic ("Legally Blonde"), Amity High Scho9ol (Legally Blonde"), Valley Regional High School ("Titanic"), Regional Center for the Arts ("Ragtime"), Guklfiord High School ("Evita") and Trumbull High School ("The Wiz").

For outstanding leading actress: New Canaan High School, Alexa Holzberger, "Sweet Chaity;" Newtown High School, Alexandro Aug, "Sweet Charity;" St. Paul's High School, Jillian Cailoutte, "Legally Blonde;" Amity High School, Ali Kramer, "Legally Blonde;" Regional Center for the Arts, Jonelle Sedgwick, "Ragtime."

 For outstanding actor: Guilford High School, Michael Sullivan, "Evita," Immaculate High School, Michael Hudak, "Miss Saigon;" Valley Regional, Kevin Alvord and Andrew Goehring, "Titanic;" Waterbury Arts Magnet, Jack Saleeby, "Sining' in The Rain;" Regional Center for the Arts, Shevance Stephens and Julian Gingell, "Ragtime."

For a complete list of nominees:


Copyright © 2018, CT Now