By ROSA CICCIO | Hartford Courant HOW IT GOT ITS NAME: Originally part of Farmington, the area that was first called Panthorne went through a progression of names, most of which included the word "south." South Society of Farmington became South Farmington, which was finally shortened to Southington. ORIGINS: Settled as early as 1698 when Samuel Woodruff became the first white man to move to the area. It was officially incorporated as a separate town in 1779. NUTS AND BOLTS: In 1818, resident Micah Rugg developed the first bolt machine. In 1840, he and a partner, Martin Barnes, established the first company in the country to manufacture nuts and bolts. In 1842, Rugg was granted a patent for a bolt-cutting machine. MAJOR LEAGUE TOWN: Southington has a rich history of sending baseball players to the major leagues, with current player Chris Denorfia of the San Diego Padres and former players Rob Dibble (1988-95), Carl Pavano (1998-2012) and Jimmie Savage (1912-15). SOURCES: The Hartford Courant; Southington.org; blacksmithbolt.com; baseballalmanac.com; Connecticut State Register and Manual.
Courtesy of the Southington Bicentennial Pictorial
Copyright © 2016, CT Now