Facebook is probably the first platform you think of when seeing the words "photo tagging." Now, Instagram's plan for tagging is coming into focus.
Called Photos of You, Instagram says it's now as easy to add a person to a photo as it is to add a hashtag. Currently, your Photos of You section is only available to you, and Instagram recommends that you use this time to get used to the feature before it's rolled out completely on May 16.
Here are a few things to keep in mind regarding the new feature.
•Only you can add people to the photos you upload. You cannot add people to anyone else's photo, but anyone can add you to a photo as long as you haven't blocked the user. Also, visibility matters. If the photos in your account are public, anyone can see what's on your profile. But if you have your profile set to private, only your confirmed followers can see your content, and that also goes for Photos of You tags.
•Any account is eligible, so you can tag a friend or a business such as the Chicago Tribune. [Power tip: Tag your favorite photos of Tribune Tower with @chicagotribune. We love to see those.]
•Photos of You is its own section on the Instagram app, so you'll receive a notification when you are tagged.
•Tags can be automatic or you can approve them manually.
•You'll need the latest version of the App (3.5) for either iOS or Android. Both are available in the iTunes Store and on Google Play.
Because Facebook owns Instagram, I was expected a bit of a learning curve. I must admit that I'm impressed at how simple the process is.
To add someone to your photo as you are uploading it, simply tap "add people" from the share screen, near where you enter the caption. Tap on a person and then start typing their name. You'll see suggestions in a menu, and you can search for someone if they don't pop up. If you make a mistake, just tap the name and an "x" will appear to remove it. If you need to or prefer to tag at a later date, you can go back to the photo, tap "..." under the photo and then tap "add people."
If someone tags a photo of you that you don't want visible on your profile, you have the option to hide it. And you can change your mind and show it again at any time. And while the default is to automatically publish tagged photos, you can change that to manual and approve what you want when you want.
Finally, if you aren't happy with being tagged in a photo someone else uploaded, you can remove the tag under the "more options" menu.
As with any social media, be aware of what photos are being shared and check your tags often to ensure nothing embarrassing or incorrect is being posted. In other words, make sure that photo of some guy dancing on the bar isn't the subject of an email from your boss.
What questions do you have about social media? Tweet them to @scottkleinberg or @amyguth. We might select yours for use in a future column.Copyright © 2015, CT Now