Justin Timberlake

Justin Timberlake and Macklemore & Ryan Lewis lead the nominees with six apiece. (John Marshall / Invision / Associated Press)

Calvin Harris feat. Florence Welch — “Sweet Nothing”

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis feat. Ray Dalton — “Can’t Hold Us”

Justin Timberlake — “Mirrors”

Miley Cyrus — “We Can’t Stop”

Best visual effects

Flying Lotus — “Tiny Tortures”

Skrillex feat. The Door — “Breakin’ a Sweat”

The Weeknd — “Wicked Games”

Duck Sauce — “It’s You”

Capital Cities — “Safe and Sound”

The 2013 MTV Video Music Awards will air live from Brooklyn’s Barclays Center on Aug. 25 at 9 p.m. E.T.